Kids Cast Over 17 Million Votes for Their Favorites in 19 Categories

Adam Sandler Honored with Wannabe Award

Mike Myers Turns Green with Glee in Spectacular Superstar Sliming

Hugh Jackman Wins Burp Award

BMX Champion Mat Hoffman Aces "World Record Skydiving-Bike Jump"

Los Angeles, Calif. - April 3, 2004 - Jim Carrey, Amanda Bynes, Frankie Muniz, OutKast, SpongeBob SquarePants, Hilary Duff and the Los Angeles Lakers are among those who nabbed coveted Kids' Choice Blimp Awards at Nickelodeon's 17th Annual Kids' Choice Awards, in a live telecast featuring the hottest stars of TV, movies, music and sports, Saturday, April 3 (8 p.m. ET/tape delay PT). Kids honored their favorites at this year's no-holds-barred kudos/mess-fest hosted for the first time by Cameron Diaz and Mike Myers at UCLA's Pauley Pavilion, where green slime showers made the day even more sublime.

Over 17 million kids participated in the voting on Nickelodeon Online (www.nick.com), March 8 through April 3. For the first time, kids also voted on their cell phones via text messaging provided by the wireless company Mobliss. Tally yielded Favorite Movie Actress for Amanda Bynes, who landed it last year too, and Favorite Movie Actor for Jim Carrey who also snagged the distinction in 2001. Finding Nemo netted Favorite Movie while Ellen DeGeneres triumphed as Favorite Voice in an Animated Movie for that film's Dory. SpongeBob SquarePants absorbed dual honors as Favorite Cartoon and Favorite Video Game. Top TV awards went to All That as Favorite Show and to Raven and Frankie Muniz as Favorite Actress and Actor. Last year's Favorite Male Athlete Tony Hawk racked up another win this year as did last year's favorite sports team, the Los Angeles Lakers.

BMX champion Mat Hoffman clinched a world record and wowed the crowd with a spectacular "World Record Skydiving Bike Jump," (14,000 feet) landing in a monstrous lake of Nickelodeon's signature green slime.

In a show highlight and a kid-dream come true, lucky Nickelodeon contest winner Kathleen Thomas, 13, of Willis, Mich., presented Adam Sandler with the annual Wannabe Award - an honor bestowed on a celebrity role model who kids most "want to be."

In a climactic moment of mess, surprised host Mike Myers turned green with glee, drenched from head to toe in a spectacular slimefest of massive sprays, a balloon drop and a ping-pong ball explosion. Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen got the goo too in another double-goo-ed mess. This year's stars sloshed in the footsteps of previous years' wearers of the green, including Jim Carrey, Adam Sandler and Tom Cruise.

In other resounding moments Hugh Jackman topped rivals in the fourth celebrity burp-off, held during orange carpet arrivals. He walked off proudly with the Burp Award, echoing best belchers Cameron Diaz (2001) - who presented him with the award - Jessica Alba and Steve Irwin (2002) and unseating last year's champ Justin Timberlake. Kids were afforded the opportunity to vote for the Burp Award during the show on nick.com. Anthony Anderson commanded attention, too, seizing the senses by arriving atop a camel for the Fart Award, accepting for the movie Kangaroo Jack.

This year's star-studded telecast features celebrity participants including Adam Sandler, Jim Carrey, Queen Latifah, Ellen DeGeneres, Hilary Duff, Jennifer Garner, Kirsten Dunst, Jennifer Love Hewitt, Tobey Macguire, Frankie Muniz, Hugh Jackman, David Spade, Lindsay Lohan, Serena Williams, Amanda Bynes, Nick Cannon, Jennifer Lopez, George Lopez, Ashley Olsen, Mary-Kate Olsen, Raven, Jamie Lynn Spears, Anthony Anderson, Anne Hathaway, Tony Hawk, Mat Hoffman, Joe Rogan, Drake Bell, Josh Peck, Benjamin McKenzie, American Idol finalists and Mischa Barton.

Multi-platinum recording artists Avril Lavigne and OutKast performed their respective hits "Don't Tell Me"; and "The Way You Move" and "Hey Ya." OutKast's airborne Andre 3000 made an aerodynamic entrance onstage for "Hey Ya," which was awarded this year's Favorite Song, and OutKast's Big Boi arrived with his heavenly troupe of kids for "The Way You Move." OutKast also landed a Kids' Choice Award this year as Favorite Music Group.

Furthermore, U-Pick Live's Brent Popolizio and Candace Bailey kicked off the night with a unique live two-hour pre-show countdown featuring celebrity interviews on the orange carpet, immediately preceding the Nickelodeon's Kids Choice Awards. The entire awards telecast will encore Sunday, April 4 (4 p.m. ET/PT), followed by special behind-the-scenes segments in TEENick hosted by American Idol's Randy Jackson and Paula Abdul.

Following are Nickelodeon's 17th Annual Kids' Choice Awards winners:





Nickelodeon's 17th Annual Kids' Choice Awards will be seen in more than 281.5 million households in 162 territories world wide on Nickelodeon's international channels and branched blocks across Africa, Asia and the Pacific Rim, CIS/Baltic Republics, Europe, Latin America and the U.S.

Nickelodeon's 17th Annual Kids' Choice Awards is being produced by Nickelodeon Productions in association with Bob Bain Productions. Bob Bain, Mike Burg and Marjorie Cohn are Executive Producers. Media outlets can reference the most up-to-date information on Nickelodeon's 17th Annual Kids' Choice Awards by logging onto www.NickKCApress.com.

Nickelodeon, which is celebrating its landmark 25th anniversary this year, is the number-one entertainment brand for kids. It has built a diverse, global business by putting kids first in everything it does. The company includes television programming and production in the United States and around the world, plus consumer products, online, recreation, books, magazines and feature films. Nickelodeon's U.S. television network is seen in 88 million households and has been the number-one-rated basic cable network for more than eight consecutive years. Nickelodeon and all related titles, characters and logos are trademarks of Viacom International Inc.